Veggie Truckin'

Bay Area Food Trucks from a Vegetarian Perspective

The Countdown Continues January 26, 2012

Since my last post, I tallied up all the food trucks I’ve been to and figured out the grand total. It was at 92, and I decided to start counting down to 100 trucks from there. I’m happy to say I’ve since tried five more trucks, bringing me to 97. What will the final three new trucks be to bring me to 100? I do not know, but here are some details about the five trucks I visited since my last post.

Number 93 was a truck I’ve been following on twitter for awhile, but I missed their grand opening on new years day. The Blast Off! Truck was scheduled to be outside a pub in Campbell on Friday the 13th. Despite coming down with a cold, I was determined to reach 93, so my boyfriend and I drove down.

The Blast Off! Truck

Their only vegetarian options were their mac and cheese asteroids and their peach cobbler. I got an asteroid, and Kyle got an order of the cobbler. The asteroid was tasty and reminded me of Soulnese’s mac ‘n’ rolls, except smaller and 50 cents more expensive.

a mac and cheese asteroid from the Blast Off! truck

inside the asteroid

Kyle enjoyed his peach cobbler, and I had a bite and liked it as well, especially the vanilla bean ice cream on top. Again, the size was somewhat small for the price though. At five dollars, we expected the dessert to be bigger than the palm of a hand.

Peach cobbler from Blast Off!

Overall, I won’t be seeking out Blast Off! again, but I might pick up a bite if they’re at a food truck gathering, especially if they add more vegetarian options and increase their portions.

Truck number 94 was one my boyfriend visited at Milpitas Street Eats and brought back to his place for dinner. Grillaz Gone Wild is a new truck on the scene that I was excited to try. Kyle picked up a bell pepper, avocado, onion, and cheese sandwich.

Sandwich from Grillaz Gone Wild

Sadly, the sandwich left much to be desired. I expected much more flavor with all the different veggies and peppers, but it was lacking. I completely forgot avocado was on it until I researched to write this post because I barely tasted it. The bread was also mediocre and had become completely soggy in the short drive home. The fries that came with the sandwich weren’t bad, but they weren’t anything special.

On Saturday, Kyle and I ventured to not one, not two, but three different food truck events. The third one was the Project Cupcake kick off party, and I’ll write about that in a future post. For now I’m focusing on new trucks, after all 🙂 Our first stop was the Evergreen Valley High School fundraiser, where about 13 trucks were parked ready to serve, rain or shine, and they experienced both.

Evergreen Valley High School fundraiser, January 21st

My 95th truck was one that has been around for awhile, Speedy Panini. I had seen them at other events but hadn’t tried them because their vegetarian sandwich included eggplant, which I’m allergic to. I had somehow missed the fact that they had a caprese sandwich as well (or maybe it was recently added to the menu?)

The Speedy Panini Truck

Caprese sandwich from Speedy Panini

I enjoyed my sandwich, especially the bread. While consuming it, a sudden downpour interrupted my meal. Everyone collectively groaned and hurried underneath an overhang.

The sudden shift to a wet event

I had already spied my 96th truck, a new truck that serves coffee and other hot drinks called Jo’ on the Go. Since the weather had made a turn for the worst, I craved something to warm me up even more. When there seemed to be a slight break in the storm, I made my way to their truck.

Jo' on the Go

Unfortunately, while I waited for my pumpkin latte to be made, the rain picked up again, and I got completely drenched making my way back to the overhang. The latte offered the perfect amount of warmth though, and I was happy to have what could possibly be my last pumpkin flavored treat of the season.

From there, we made our way to Moveable Feast. A truck from San Francisco was making its Moveable Feast debut, so my 97th truck quickly became Koja Kitchen.

The Koja Kitchen truck

Kyle and I split their vegan option, teriyaki zen. It consisted of a patty made from mushroom, soy, and other veggies with pineapple on a bun made out of rice. It was insanely yummy, especially with the addition of Sriracha. Kyle’s not usually a huge teriyaki fan, and he even enjoyed it.

Teriyaki zen from Koja Kitchen

Where will I get my 98th, 99th, and 100th meals from new food trucks? I don’t have an answer yet. I can’t think of any south bay trucks I haven’t tried that serve vegetarian options. This weekend I’ll be venturing into the city for a couple sketch fest shows, so I’m hoping I stumble upon some trucks I’ve never tried while I’m there. Stay tuned!

 

4 Responses to “The Countdown Continues”

  1. Cristeen Says:

    I’ve had the vegetarian cheesesteak twice from the Grillaz Gone Wild truck, and both times I was NOT disappointed! For them to even offer a vegetarian cheesesteak was a huge plus for me, not everyone caters to the vegetarian community. I found that both times, my sandwiches were full of flavor & the bread was perfect. And the second time I went, I wasn’t able to eat my sandwich until 30 min after I bought it…so I’m not sure why you thought the bread was soggy. Being a vegetarian for the past 4 years, I’ve learned that I cannot expect people to cater to the food diet that I chose. Therefore, if you’re going to give someone a bad review for a vegetarian sandwich that they don’t even specialize in, you should just not say anything at all, it’s kind of irrelevant. You’re giving vegetarians a bad rap, making us look like picky complainers.

  2. Laura Says:

    Thank you for your comment. I’m glad you had a better experience with Grillaz Gone Wild than I did. If you read more of my blog you will see that I write about my experiences with food trucks whether positive or negative, and a vast majority of what I write is positive. I don’t see writing about a sandwich I didn’t like as complaining. While I appreciate it when trucks include vegetarian options on their menus, I don’t think simply having one entitles a truck to a positive review. It would be doing a disservice to my readers if I ate at a truck and wasn’t honest about whether or not I enjoyed their food. I have readers that are both vegetarians and meat eaters, and they expect to read about my experiences and which trucks I recommend. What I write is my opinion only and does not represent all vegetarians.

  3. […] Truckin’ has eaten at 99 different food trucks! I’m sure number 100 is imminent. Who will it […]

  4. […] checked out the review from @veggietruckin and found that she had said good things about the Caprese Panino, but had not tried the vegetarian […]


Leave a Reply

